Informing Activists ~ Table of Contents

last updated: March 17th, 2020

Welcome to the home page for the Informing Activists video project! Below you will find links for videos of social movement scholars (and social scientists) answering questions relevant for young activists.

Each page contains at least one video that we hope will help young activists make informed decisions about their engagements, a bio about the presenter, and some suggested readings if someone is interested in a deeper dive into the topic area.

The list is regularly curated, and so please check back regularly for updates!

The most recent additions to the collection include: 

Paul Chang- “What kinds of repression should I anticipate when I am active in a democratic country?” (3/17/2020)

Sam Scovill- “What are different things to think about when you are planning or holding a meeting?” (1/28/2020)

To visit the original introduction to the series from the Mobilizing Ideas editors and the series curators, please click here.

We hope you find these to be helpful, and welcome suggestions about new videos. You can email us at maher11@purdue.edu. Good luck on making the change you envision!

Table of Contents

Do movements make a difference? 

In what ways do social movements make a difference? – Thomas Elliott

How/When do movements make a political difference? – Katrin Uba

How/When do movements affect culture? – Jenn Earl

When do movements shape public opinion? – Neal Caren

How does movement participation affect people’s lives? – Marco Giugni

How do movements influence elections? – Fabio Rojas

How do I support movements in other countries? – Dana Moss

How do I get (more/new/different) people involved?

Who Participates in Movements and Why? – Bert Klandermans and Ziad Munson

How do I get people involved in my movement  — Katrina Kimport

What can be done about activist burnout? – Sharon Nepstad

How can activists avoid burnout? – Hava Gordon

How do I build identity and solidarity in a movement? – Rachel Einwohner

How can I build coalitions and increase diversity? – Rich Wood

What should I know about reaching a diverse group of people online?– Thomas Elliott

“How can movements mobilize inside of Christian communities?” — Jonathan Coley

What should I focus on when I am trying to create change? 

How much does the political environment affect my cause? – David Meyer

What are the best tactics for my cause? – Catherine Corrigall-Brown

How do I use online tools to help my cause? – Lissa Soep

What are the best targets for my cause? – Tom Maher

How do I adapt my tactics to the political environment? – Holly McCammon

What should I think about when I am creating an organization?

When do I need an organization? – Jenn Earl

How do I work with existing organizations? – Grace Yukich

How can I build coalitions and increase diversity? – Rich Wood

“How can I actively work against racism within social movements and Social Movement Organizations?” Pam Oliver

What are some considerations for youth in organizations? – Sarah Gaby

What are the different types of leadership I can choose from? Belinda Robnett

What responses should I expect from adults when I get involved in activism? Jessica Taft

“What are the challenges and opportunities that girls and young women should consider when getting involved in social movements?” – Nancy Whittier

“What are different things to think about when you are planning or holding a meeting?”  – Sam Scovill

How can I be more convincing? 

How do I talk about my cause? – David Snow

What ways are more or less effective for agreeing or disagreeing with others? – Kate Kenski

What do I need to know about the media environment? – Deana Rohlinger

How do I stay safe? 

What are the risks of activism and can I reduce those risks? – Heidi Reynolds-Stenson

How can I protect myself legally when I am active online? – Derek Bambauer

“What kinds of repression should I anticipate when I am active in a democratic country?” — Paul Chang

Applied Examples in Current and Historic Movements 

How might these topics apply to a specific campaign? – Elizabeth Armstrong

What can activists in the West learn from the Arab Spring? – Atef Said

Applying social movement concepts to immigration activism – Lisa Martinez

1 Comment

Filed under Informing Activists, Uncategorized

One response to “Informing Activists ~ Table of Contents

Leave a comment