2018 McCarthy Award Winner!

The Center for the Study of Social Movements at the University of Notre Dame is very pleased to announce that the winner of the 2017 John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior is Aldon Morris of Northwestern University. The award not only recognizes Aldon’s extraordinary achievements in research, but also the role that he has played in mentoring successive generations of scholars.

Aldon’s early path-breaking analyses of the civil rights movement continue to strongly influence the way that we think about social movements and the way that we think about overcoming racial inequality. Aldon has also demonstrated remarkable intellectual breadth throughout his career, most recently showcased in his critically acclaimed book, The Scholar Denied: W.E.B DuBois and the Birth of Modern Sociology. This work goes far beyond social movement scholarship and leads us to reconsider the development of sociology as a whole.

This year’s award ceremony will take place on April 14, 2018 on the Notre Dame campus. Aldon will be giving a public lecture prior to the award banquet. At the banquet, several of his friends, colleagues and former students will be on hand to offer reflections on his work and his influence on the field.

In conjunction with the presentation of the McCarthy Award, the Center for the Study of Social Movements will also be hosting the ninth annual Young Scholars in Social Movements Conference on April 13, 2018. Advanced graduate students and recently minted PhD’s will be invited to present their work and receive feedback from the McCarthy Award winner and a distinguished panel of senior scholars in the field. A call for nominations for the Young Scholars Conference will be issued in a separate announcement.

We hope that many of you will mark your calendars and plan to join us for these events. Please be on the lookout for more information in the coming days and weeks—including instructions on how to apply for the Young Scholars Conference. We will distribute the news on the CBSM listserv and also post the news on our Center’s website http://nd.edu/~cssm/

We are also thrilled to announce that we have selected Suzanne Staggenborg as our 2019 award winner and we look forward to honoring her in the spring of 2019. We will provide more information on that event as the date draws nearer.


Rory McVeigh

Director, Center for the Study of Social Movements
The Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor of Sociology
4048 Jenkins/Nanovic Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556
(574) 631-0386

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s