Call for Nominations for the McCarthy Award

The Center for the Study of Social Movements at the University of Notre Dame invites nominations for the 2013 John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior.  The award honors scholars who have made “outstanding contributions to the scholarly literature concerned with social movements, protest, collective violence, riots, and other kinds of collective behavior over the course of her or his career.  The recipient will be a person who has made major contributions not only through her or his own research, but also through teaching and mentoring other, more junior, scholars as they have developed their own research and scholarly identities.”

The award recipient will receive the award in the spring of 2013 in a ceremony held at the University of Notre Dame in conjunction with the Center’s fourth Young Scholars in Social Movements Conference.  In addition to attending the award ceremony and banquet, the selected recipient will deliver the closing keynote lecture for the conference and have the opportunity to consult with faculty and graduate students about their ongoing research projects.

Previous Winners of the McCarthy Award:

2007  John McCarthy (Inaugural Award)
2008  Verta Taylor
2009  Mayer Zald
2010  Doug McAdam
2011  William Gamson
2012  Pamela Oliver

Please send the names of nominees, along with a brief statement supporting the nomination, no later than January 10, 2013 to  Rory McVeigh, McCarthy Award Committee Chair, (email nominations strongly preferred)

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Disruption

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s